FALAFEL 

Hi my loves!

I know I haven’t posted in a while school has me very busy especially since this is the last month so finals coming up and juggling 6 classes with personal things going on I am posting on the free time that I have. Anyways, Falafel time this is made from chickpeas sometimes fava beans too depending on who makes it but falafel is usually served anytime of the year but I mostly see it served during Ramadan ( The Holy Month ). This dish is very easy to make I would say healthy but it’s fried and this could be a vegan dish since no eggs are added to it. 

Falafel can be eaten with pita bread or by itself whatever you prefer I usually have a salad on the side if I make this. I will show you guys the tahini sauce the white sauce you see put on top of the falafel usually. This recipe will be the green type of falafel obviously when fry it you can’t tell until you bite into so don’t freak out if it’s green. I’d use parsley as well since it has a taste to it.

Falafel 

  • 3 cup chickpeas soaked overnight if still hard boil till its soft.
  • 2- 3 bunches of cilantro or parsley
  • Mint ( not too much )
  • 1 red or white onion
  • 1 small whole garlic 

Spices

This will change depending how ya mama makes it or depending on the taste you are going for, I usually don’t measure I just eye it.

  • 2 tbsp black pepper
  • 3 tbsp salt
  • 1 – 2 tbsp of cumin
  • 1 tbsp of coriander
  • 1 – 2 cayenne pepper ; optional if you want some spice to it.
  • 1 – 2 tbsp baking soda

Tahini Sauce

  • 1 – 2 cup of tahini
  • 1 cup lemon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 5 cloves of garlic 

I do have a recipe for the garlic sauce that is usually served with Arab food just let me know if you want to see it. 

__________________________________________

Boil the chickpeas if you have to mine were soaked overnight but weren’t soft so I boiled it till it was soft enough to be blended


Blend cilantro or parsley, garlic, onion and mint first and then put it into a big bowl


Then blend chickpeas once its soft enough and you do this in batches because it hard to blend so add a tiny tiny bit of water so it’s easier to blend you don’t want to make hummus.



Till all chickpeas are nicely blended you can add sesame seed to the mix unless allergic and then add black pepper, salt, cayenne pepper, cumin and coriander and add small amount of baking soda if it is not sticking together. 

Taste the mix and add more or less depending on what you prefer. 

Turn on the oil you have prepared and start rolling into round circles; till the oil is hot test one falafel and see if it doesn’t fall apart if it does use more baking soda. 


Now for the Tahini Sauce

If you are allergic to sesame then try making a cilantro lime sauce instead. Add tahini, garlic, lemon and salt till it somewhat water and had some thickness to it

And Voila you are done making the falafel I would cut tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce and cook some pita bread for a nice sandwich 😋

By the way who is excited for Ramadan? I was thinking of doing some Ramadan tips. Let me know if you guys are interested.

Enjoy x

With Love, Fatima 🕊

Leave a Reply

